Last updateFri, 11 Apr 2014 1pm

Font Size




Menu Style


Breaking News

  • Pause
  • Previous
  • Next
Back You are here: Home Current News BJP retains Surat West in Gujarat in by election

BJP retains Surat West in Gujarat in by election

Gujarat Global News Network, Ahmedabad

Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Purnesh Modi won the Surat West Assembly seat defeating Congress candidate. By election for the Surat West was held following death of BJP MLA Kishore Wankawala.

While Purnesh Modi of BJP got 86029 votes, D L Patel of Congress got 19755 votes. With this Modi has won by 63,274 votes. In 2012 Wankawala had won this seat by a margin of more than 70,000. 

Modi has got 78 per cent votes which is four percent more than the votes polled by Vankawala. This time polling was less. It was 55 per cent.


Surat (West) seat had fallen vacant because of the death of two-time BJP MLA Kishore Wankawala a few months ago. Both Modi and Patel fought the assembly elections for the first time. Modi was a councillor of Surat Municipal Corporation from 2001 to 2005 and in-charge of Dang constituency during the 2007 assembly elections. He was appointed city BJP president in 2010 and has been with the party since 1984.

Patel, a retired Sales Tax officerofficer from Olpad in Surat district, represents the Koli Patel community.

For news in Hindi see our Hindi daily Chaupal Chronicle